What a difference a year makes.

It just hit me as I was posting my new PR and SF Half Marathon stats up on my bulletin board (for some daily inspiration) that I’ve been at this now for about a year.  I decided approximately a year ago that I was done.

I was done pretending that I was still 21 years old.  I was done thinking that I was invincible.  I was done convincing myself that I could treat my body any ole sort of way and not have to pay the consequences.  I was done sleeping eight hours every night but being tired all day long.  I was done eating fake food with ingredient lists that I can’t even pronounce.  I was done investing in things and people I don’t believe in.  I was done going through the motions without question.  I woke up.

I’m not sure why I decided to start running specifically.  Probably because I’m extremely competitive and my Little Brother told me that he wanted to run a half marathon.  That sounded like a really good idea (don’t tell him I said that ;)).  I played soccer growing up, I’ve always like running, maybe I could try to run one too.

It started slow.  I had a daily goal of just getting up to do something: yoga, walk, dance around in my socks on the hardwood floors.  It’s manifested into the passion you can see now.  It’s an amazing feeling to really work hard towards a goal that you are skeptical you can even accomplish, and then to do it.  And then do it again.  And then do it again, within just TWO minutes of breaking 2 hours!

…it sort of makes you feel like you can do anything.

(Wow, blogging is like therapy ;))

This entry was posted in The Game of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What a difference a year makes.

  1. Sharon Craig says:

    I love reading your blog….it is like spending some time in your brain…I really fun trip!
    Love and Hugs,
    MOMMA

Leave a Reply

