Express Lane

I live on one side of the city and work on the other.  I love San Francisco’s public transportation system (Muni), but it can take up to an hour to travel the 5 miles by bus.  This is why I thank my lucky stars everyday that Muni operates various “express buses” that run from my neighborhood down to the financial district, with limited stops.  The express buses cut the travel time down to about 20 – 30 minutes, a much more reasonable commute and almost comparable to taking the P Line.  For those of you who aren’t familiar, the P Line usually accommodates one passenger, provides door to door service in a much more comfortable SUV, and the driver will stop for dim sum if you are really nice ;).

This morning I had to get to work for an early conference call and the P Line was still sleeping wasn’t running yet, so I took the usual express bus.  Drivers of the express buses tend to be more upbeat and friendly than other Muni drivers, probably because of the boring benign clientele.  Express bus drivers don’t usually have to deal with delinquent teenagers tagging their rides or the homeless man insisting the tag-less dog he’s brought on to the bus is a “service dog” and he will therefore not be getting off the bus as requested.

My bus driver this morning however, was a notch or two above upbeat.  Her adjectives are more like phenomenal and entertaining.  Gregarious and extroverted, just the kind of person my mom would love to strike up a conversation with.  That is, if she could have gotten a word in edgewise.  For the duration of my commute downtown this morning my bus driver sang “Kiss” (by Prince) and whistled the beat, interrupted periodically by her commentary on the state of the traffic and road conditions along San Francisco’s Bush Street.  Below are some of my favorite excerpts (yes, I took down quotes to share with you):

You don’t have to be rich, To be my girl
You don’t have to be cool, To rule my world
Ain’t no particular sign I’m more compatible with
I just want your extra time and your

Oh. Ow. Ow. Owww! When. Are. They. Going. To. Be. Done. Paving. This. Road. Ow. Ooh. Sorry! Sorry! One more. Here it comes. Sooooorrrrrry!

Whistle, whistle, whistle.

Kiss.

Oh no he didn’t just box me in! Oh yes, he did. How selfish. I’m boxed in ya’ll, we ain’t goin’ anywhere for a minute here.

You don’t have to be beautiful, To turn me on
I just need your body baby, From dusk till dawn

What is he doin? Hello! You’re blocking the intersection. (opens window) hello! You’re blocking the intersection! (closes window)

Whistle, whistle, whistle.

Kiss.

This entry was posted in I Left my Heart in San Francisco, The Game of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Express Lane

  1. Chef's Sister says:

    This reminds me of my first bus ride in SF, which was about nine years ago. The bus driver was racing down Van Ness Ave. and randomly talking about Michael Jackson. All of sudden, she comes to stop, opens her side window and yells out to this guy, “hey, you better get your grandma off the street before she gets run over!”

  2. Pingback: More Little Things | Mission Marathon

  3. Pingback: The Bus Diaries | Balanced Footsteps

Leave a Reply

