CSA Recap

Last week The Chef picked up our CSA bag while I was in the infirmary.  Here’s what we got:

Beefsteak Tomatoes
Kale
Garlic
Romano Beans (Italian Green Beans)
Red Radishes
Raspberries

This week’s delivery presented new challenges.  I knew what everything was, but what in the world are you supposed to do with a pound of garlic!  I have more garlic and radishes than I know what to do with and certainly than I’ll be able to deal with before they go bad! You can’t really freeze either so that option is out.  I’m going to have to find recipes (and lots of them!) so that I can maximize each ingredient to the fullest!  Or I’m going to have to donate to the “Dadtober loves garlic” foundation 😉

Tomorrow I pick up the next bag, finally!  I say finally because since we signed up over a month ago, I have yet to retrieve the bag.  It’s delivered to our neighborhood each week but then we have to go and get it at the pick-up spot; we have a 7 hour window on Wednesday afternoons to pick it up.  I promised The Chef when signing up that he wouldn’t get stuck picking it up each week…ooops!

PS – the green beans were awesome!  It was the first time I’d had this particular kind; they were wider, longer and flatter than the type of green beans I am used to and oh-so-delicious.  I just steamed them; I prefer my veggies to taste like veggies.

This entry was posted in CSA. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CSA Recap

  1. Pingback: PSA for CSA | Balanced Footsteps

Leave a Reply

