Self Talk

I wonder if other people talk to themselves as much as I do.

I talk to myself A LOT.  Most of the time, I don’t think I’m technically talking to myself but the inanimate objects won’t respond so it couldn’t be classified as a conversation.  For example, I just asked the TV a question about the tennis match score that it is displayed.  I know we’re getting into semantics here but I technically wasn’t asking myself the question, I asked the TV.  The TV just didn’t respond.  Don’t worry, I figured out the answer in the meantime.

I’m home alone most nights now because The Chef is at work and when I’m at work I have my own office, so it’s not like people are just around for me to talk to.  Or maybe my self-talk increased when I started running last year.  I often comment on the weather or the cute little girl trying to learn how to ride her bike in the park.  I say something if the homeless man I pass is particularly stinky or a smoker exhales just as I go by; and I always remember to say hi to the buffaloes.

On a daily basis I talk to my work computer and I’m usually not very nice.  I also typically provide audible commentary on the scent condition of the bathroom and kitchen in the office.

I wonder if most people just keep these thoughts in their head.  Do you?  Am I chattier than the normal person?  Maybe the problem is the thickness of the filter between my brain and mouth.

This entry was posted in The Game of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

