Good Things Come in Small Packages

On my walk home from the bus today this little, curly-haired girl, probably 2 years old, passed me in her stroller which was being pushed by her mom (or babysitter, who knows).  She waved at me and said “byeeeeeee”.  I chuckled because this reminded me of one of my boyfriend’s quotes in the movie Superbad.  I said “bye” back to her and now I wish I had taken her right out of that stroller so she could be mine.  She was so stinkin’ cute and she already had the little baby-fro workin’ for her!

Speaking of cute little things, look at my stapler!

I am working from home tomorrow and one of the benefits is that I can squeeze in a longer run.  You may have noticed that I didn’t provide a weekly summary last Sunday.  This is because I was lazy and didn’t do my long run, which actually isn’t that long (just 13 miles); this weekend’s long run is the real kicker (19 miles).  So I’ve adjusted my runs all week to try to make up the mileage that I missed last weekend.  I don’t like not being able to cross something off the training schedule!  I’ve also been beating myself up all week about missing the run last weekend.  I only have a month until the marathon; can I really do it if I’m skipping training runs!?  Oh man, I’m so nervous!  I’ll let you know how it all goes and also provide a weekly summary this Sunday which will really be for the last two weeks.

I’ve been lucky to be able to take advantage of the P Line this week.  Today we got dim sum on the way to work and I also ordered something for dinner because most of the menu options are great for carbo-protein-loading.  The pictures of what I got and had for dinner are below.  I don’t know what it’s called (and I get it all the time so I probably should learn) but it’s essentially rice with a whole bunch of different meat-bits wrapped in a lotus leaf that you just steam to heat up when you’re ready to eat.  I’m sure it’s neither organic nor locally raised, it may even be dog or cat, but its delicious 🙂

Dadtober, you will be proud to know that I can pick up individual pieces of rice with my chopsticks and when there were only a couple of pieces left I made the smartest decision and just licked the plate clean. 🙂

This entry was posted in Eat, Run, Travel, The Game of Life, Weekly Summaries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

