Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens

Do you know what the best part about a Friday morning run through GG Park is?

No, not the buffaloes…

Nope, the minimal amount of people and traffic weren’t it either…

The sneak peek at the set up for the Power to the Peaceful festival was cool, but that wasn’t the coolest, keep guessing…

Gus?  I love Gus but he’s always with me now; that wasn’t what was different and awesome about this run…

Give up?!

Sprinklers!!!!

And I tried my very best to run through each and every one of them.  Luckily, summer came back to SF today so it was warm out; 7 miles flew by before I even knew it because I was having so much fun.  Sprinklers definitely wouldn’t have been as cool if I had to run in the rain-fog; well they would have been cool I guess, so cool I would have froze.

Today I also learned that my beloved buffaloes are not actually, technically buffaloes.  There are two types of buffaloes, Asian water buffaloes and African buffaloes.  US American buffaloes are really called American bison.  I’ll probably continue to refer to them as buffalo because that’s how I roll.

I snapped some photos to share with you guys while I was procrastinating this morning.  These are just a few of my favorite things that I like to have for my runs.  Whoever said that running was a great sport because all you need is a pair of running shoes probably wasn’t female or a lover of gadgets.  In addition to what is pictured below I’ve got all the accessories a runner-girl could dream of: Gus, a head lamp for dark mornings, my iPod, sunglasses, various water belts, earmuffs (which is more like a headband than actual earmuffs), running gloves, sweatbands, headbands, lions and tigers and bears, oh my!

You may remember from previous posts that I am having a little bit of difficulty with chaffing on long runs due to inadequate sports bra protection and the length of the runs.  I bought this (below) to try to rectify the situation; its boob lube!  I think its intended for cyclists but it said you could use it on skin so I gave it a whirl.  The verdict = awesome.

My Momma and Dadtober got me this visor just as I began my training and it has become a vital part of any outdoor run.  It helps block the sun, keeps my hair out of my eyes, collects sweat and even provided defense against the sprinklers today!

In case you had any question, Adidas makes sure you know which sock should go on which foot.  I’m not sure if all of the running “technology” the company boasts about being built into the socks really makes a difference but the socks are comfortable, no blisters to date, they’re thin and breathe; I don’t think they make me any faster though 😉

My shoe pocket!  I can’t believe I didn’t discover this in high school when I was running.  I used to carry my house keys on a lanyard around my wrist.  Ha!  This would have made things so much easier!

Hi!  This is Bethtober post 10 miles, all smiles.  It was the sprinklers; I’m telling you, awesome!

I was famished after my run because I did not prepare well and hadn’t eaten anything all morning so The Chef made me huevos rancheros.  The Chef’s mom gave us some chirmol (via The Chef’s sister who had visited their parents last weekend), so he poached a couple of eggs and toasted artisanal wheat bread that we used for dipping.  Deeeeeeeeeeelicious.

This entry was posted in Eat, Run, Travel, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

