I’m on Strike!

“Pain is a bad deal!  No more heels!”  Say it with me.  “Pain is a bad deal!  No more heels!” “Pain is a bad deal!  No more heels!”

“Say no to blisters that pop! Wear flip flops!”  I can’t hear you! “Say no to blisters that pop! Wear flip flops!”

With just 24 days left until THE marathon, I am not taking any chances.  I quit wearing heels to work or out at night, a couple of weeks ago and have pledged not to put them back on my feet until after Bethtober 17th.  I wear either flats or flip flops to work most days and am very grateful to work for a company that realizes that it is more important what comes out of my mouth and brain than what is worn on my feet.  Outfit choices for work can be a bit challenging some days though as a number of my “work pants” have been tailored specifically for 3-4 inch heels but it’s a small sacrifice for the greater goal!  I do have some pretty cute pairs of shoes that I miss.  Is it wrong that I still want to shop for new ones even though I’m not wearing them?!

Additionally, I realized a week or two ago that I can’t get anymore pedicures until after THE marathon.  I have cut back on this luxury significantly within the last year or two anyways but the last time I went, they scrubbed off all of my calluses!  Hey, I worked hard for those! And then I had to endure another round of blistering and callusing.  No thank you very much!

“Calluses don’t stink!  Paint your own nails pink!”

This entry was posted in Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m on Strike!

  1. Sharon Craig says:

    I noticed that today’s Blog is rhyme tyme…..so like your Dadtober!

    Love and Hugs,
    MOMMA

  2. Pingback: Learning more everyday! | Balanced Footsteps

Leave a Reply

