Failing to Plan is Planning to Fail!

“It pays to plan ahead.  It wasn’t raining when Noah built the ark!”

What do you have planned for today?

Oh, me?  I’m going to make some breakfast, get some work done, run 20 miles, get some more work done and then go to my acupuncture appointment.  Yes, you read that correctly, I’m squeezing in my last long run today!

This was not planned or decided on until about 30 minutes ago but I think it will work out well.  Usually I’m quite the planner and have severe angst when I have to deviate from “the plan”.  The Chef on the other hand is the definition of spontaneity.  If you look up “fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants” in the dictionary you’ll see his picture, no joke.  In this respect we really balance each other out; me, needing to loosen up more, him, needing a little bit more structure.

Bethtober/Dadtober kicks off tomorrow and somehow the weekend is already full of plans with family and friends!  First up is dinner with Momma and Dadtober in Sacramento to celebrate Dadtober’s birthday.  (This is why he is called Dadtober and Momma is not called Momtober…his birthday really is in October too!)

I had originally planned to do my long run tomorrow morning before driving to Sac.   However, this would have meant waking up at 4 or 5 am (on my day off!), ensuring my run was completed in time to make it to Sac by the early afternoon, and driving for 2+ hours on legs that had just run 20 miles.  None of this sounded like an awesome idea to me but I really didn’t have a better option.  I can’t run Saturday morning because I’ll be in the inferno Sacramento and I learned my lesson about running in that heat.  I don’t want to run Sunday morning because I plan to have adult beverages Saturday night and I also didn’t want to leave my last long run to Sunday just in case something happens like an attack from the Migraine Monster.  Alas, the clouds parted and a ray of light appeared in my schedule for today allowing a midday break and welcomed long run…the last one before THE race.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

This entry was posted in The Game of Life, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Failing to Plan is Planning to Fail!

  1. Sharon Craig says:

    I think when you are done with your Blog you should send it to a publisher….You are creative and hysterical! Did you see the movie Julie and Julia? Your blog is so much better than hers. I look forward to your next addition.

    Love and Proud of You!
    MOMMA

  2. Pingback: We are the CHAMPIONS! | Mission Marathon

Leave a Reply

