One Week!

Guess what?!

One week until my birthday!  And that means 11 days until THE marathon!!!

Half of me is SO excited (birthday half) and the other half is VERY nervous (marathon half)!  I feel the nervous part more often.  It feels like butterflies in the stomach, nausea, worry about the uncontrollable etc…  I’m just trying to breathe and be present.

I ran 4 miles today.  I ran them fast and strong.  It felt really good.  Actually right when I slipped my feet into my shoes this afternoon I knew it was going to be a good run.  My shoes felt like pillows; there was no other place my feet would have rather been.

It’s taper time.  The last week or two of training for a big race typically entail scaling back on mileage and workouts and getting as much food and rest in as possible.  Count me in!  The timing works out extremely well for me this year because I have birthday dinners and celebrations to get to!  First up, this Saturday The Chef and I will be going to a restaurant I’ve had at the top of my “to-eat-at” list for awhile, nopa. Mmmmmmmm!

I also only have 4 more days of work and then I’m taking a week off for a little “staycation”.  I haven’t taken this much time off away from work since the beginning of 2008 when we went to Guatemala for two weeks, and even though most of the days are filled with doctors’ appointments and catching back up on life, I’m really looking forward to it!

Oh and I added a new page if you’re interested.  See up there?  Next to “About me”, I added a page to catalog and track my races (including upcoming events) and finish times.  Check it out!

This entry was posted in The Game of Life, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

