Life: A Balancing Act

The more I experience as I grow and age, the more I’m convinced life is best lived in balance.  For me, this can be quite a challenge.

I have a problem with moderation.  If one piece of cheesecake tastes amazing then why not have ten!?

I tend to have tunnel vision when my efforts are focused.  60 hours of work in one week isn’t that bad, right?!  I can always sleep later.

Patience is a virtue that I don’t have!  If I have to pee, I have to pee NOW!  If I’m hungry, I’m hungry NOW!  If I’m thirsty, its 5 o’clock somewhere!

I’ve learned however, that spiraling down the rabbit hole of instant gratification is ultimately less satisfying.  I’m trying to be much more present and part of that involves consistently reevaluating where I am at throughout the day and what I could be doing to create more balance.  For example, I drank many a glass of wine last night celebrating Bethtober with The Chef and woke up pretty lethargic and definitely not motivated to run the eight miles on the schedule.  I knew if I could get myself out the door however, I would come home feeling much better and more motivated to have a productive day.  Previously, I probably would have just curled up on the couch and forfeited the day to the TV.  I’ve also learned it’s just as important to not beat myself up for not-so-healthy choices and just make a better decision the next time.  So yes, I completed the run today AND had an amazing dinner at nopa with The Chef last night to celebrate Bethtober…ahhhhh balance!

Before dinner…

My most favorite toe…

After dinner…

This entry was posted in The Game of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

