I’m Gonna Be (2011 miles)

When I wake up yeah I know I’m gonna be
I’m gonna be the
woman who wakes up next to you
When I go out yeah I know I’m gonna be
I’m gonna be the
woman who goes along with you

If I get drunk yes I know I’m gonna be
I’m gonna be the
woman who gets drunk next to you
And if I haver yeah I know I’m gonna be
I’m gonna be the
woman who’s havering to you

But I would run 1005.5 miles
And I would
run 1005.5 more
Just to be the
woman who ran 2011 miles
To fall down at your door

Morning!  Neurons awake?  Did you guess what this post is going to be about yet?!

In our house we often wake up with music in our brains.  I’m not entirely sure why.  The Chef has a passion for music, had a similar major in college and produces beats on his iPad in his spare time.  Me?  I just like to sing very loudly, off-key, and mostly made up words.  I usually compose my own numbers; I’m working on my first album now.  My latest song is called, “I don’t like walking home in the rain, my feet are wet and I want wine”.  I know the title is vague; don’t worry; the chorus really brings the whole thing together.  (Side note: I had NO idea two semicolons in the same sentence was allowed!  Learn something new everyday!)

I was reading a fellow runner’s blog the other day and she wrote about how she ran two-thousand-and-something miles during 2010.  She ran something like 3 half marathons, 8 marathons, an Olympic distance triathlon and some other miscellaneous distances.  So naturally, because I’m not competitive at all, I thought to myself, self, you could do that!  Could you do that?  That’s not THAT much…it’s like, maybe [grabs calculator] six-point-something miles per day.

I didn’t want to “copy” her mileage and use that as my goal so I thought I’d try to beat it (see, not competitive).  So I began researching the distance from one side of the US to the other.  Apparently, the width of the US is approximately 2,680 miles. I could be like Forrest Gump!  Shrimp gumbo, shrimp chips, shrimp kabobs, shrimp scampi, barbecued shrimp…WOW, I have the attention span of a three-year-old this morning!

For the past four days, I’ve been grappling with the idea of trying to run approximately 7.34 miles per day, 51.38 miles per week to accomplish this goal of 2,680 miles in 2011.  Of course you need off-days and running longer mileage on on-days would make up for those, but that is a LOT of miles.  The thing I like about this type of goal though is that you really have to be consistent and disciplined, balanced.  You can’t wait until November to try to accomplish this goal.  You have to start now and keep going, slowly but surely, a little bit, everyday, all year.  Buuuuuuut 2,680 miles is pushing it a bit I think; at least for me, right now.  I don’t think there was one week last year that I even ran 50 miles.  Corporate America teaches you to set goals that are S.M.A.R.T. and I wasn’t sure that 2,680 miles was very Realistic for me.  But what is cooler than running the width of the US?  I didn’t know.

Until I woke up this morning singing!

In 2011, I’m going to attempt to run approximately 5.51 miles per day, 38.57 miles per week for a total of 2011 miles.  2011 miles in 2011!  And I haven’t even run one yet!  Better get going…wish me luck!

What are your goals for 2011?

This entry was posted in Monthly Goals, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m Gonna Be (2011 miles)

  1. Sharon Craig says:

    You are incredibly funny….I love this blog….especially the new song for your 1st album! I missed your postings….glad you are back for my amusement!

    Love and Hugs,
    MOMMA

  2. Pingback: Ch-Ch-Changes | Balanced Footsteps

  3. Pingback: Championship Sunday | Balanced Footsteps

Leave a Reply

