Obviously Controlling and Detail-oriented (OCD)

I have obsessive compulsive disorder.

I’ve never been professionally diagnosed but take my word for it. It’s exhausting but true. For me, it’s not a debilitating condition like the Migraine Monster; sometimes I can even use my OCD powers for good. Keep reading, you’ll see.

If you don’t believe me, feel free to evaluate the following Bethtober behaviors and draw your own conclusions:

• When unplugging my flat iron in the bathroom in the morning I say to myself… self, you are unplugging the flat iron. You don’t need to double check fifty-six times before you leave the house this morning because you are consciously aware that right now, you are unplugging the flat iron. Then I ignore everything I just told myself and I proceed to check that the cord has in fact been pulled from the wall: 1) after I get dressed for work 2) every time I pass the bathroom while getting my things together 3) before physically leaving the apartment 4) usually once I’ve entered into the hallway, before I’ve closed the front door and 5) sometimes even after I’ve locked the apartment and started my walk to the bus stop (yes, this means I walk back home, unlock the front door and peek my head back into the bathroom just to make sure).

• After getting out of our parked car, I lock the doors and then double check to make sure they’re secure by both making sure the locks on the doors are lowered and then testing the door handles. I usually also ask The Chef if he has his keys (even if I have mine).

• I crack my toes. If I can only crack one foot, I have to continue trying until I can crack both sets of toes, one right after the other.

You can judge me, but keep the verdict to yourself 😉

I also love to-do lists and spreadsheets. Below, you’ll find Exhibit A.

Month Week Actual Miles Goal Miles
Jan 1/1 – 1/9 14.51 49.59
1/10 – 1/16   88.16
1/17 – 1/23   126.73
1/24 – 1/30   165.3
Goal Status Check 14.51 165.3

If a girl is going to set a ridiculous, year-long goal, she needs a way to obsessively track it! You can only see the first month above but rest assured the spreadsheet has been completed for the whole year. You will also note that I’m slightly behind schedule. Again, don’t worry! It’s under control!

My ankle has been pretty sensitive for the past couple of months but I’ve put my big girl pants on and we’re up and running, literally!

6.32 miles yesterday, 6.39 today and more tomorrow!

This entry was posted in The Game of Life, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

