Firsts

I’ve been all about experiencing things for the first time lately.  The more we know and experience, the more we can grow and change.  Change is not a bad thing people!  That word has such a bad rap these days.  OK, instead of “change” let’s say evolve. There, better now? 😉

It’s not an entirely new phenomenon; I’ve never been too averse to trying new things.  Dadtober and The Chef certainly have never let me get away without at least trying a bite of something unusual or foreign to me.

Though now I find myself seeking out firsts.  Recently I tried both escargot and Brussels sprouts for the first time (yummy!).  I’m currently managing my first fantasy football playoff team.  The Chef and I brought PhD to a Brazilian restaurant during the holidays that I’ve wanted to go to for a long time.  I was in the kitchen helping prepare the Guatemalan Christmas tamales with my MIL, for the first time from start to finish, this year.  I bought my first pair of new running shoes in 2011 last week.

Come to think of it, they’re also my first new brand of shoe as I’ve been running in the exact same type since I started running in 2009.  These are Saucony ProGrid Kinvara’s; I like them but for different reasons than my other pair.  I say “other pair” and not “old pair” because my beloved Adidas Response Cushion 17’s aren’t too worn out yet and I’ll probably switch between the two for the next couple months.  I just got a hankerin’ for a new pair of running shoes after I realized I get to buy four new pairs this year!  I know; I have a problem.

The Saucony’s are SUPER light and I really like the soles (but they feel very different on my heels and ankles which is taking some getting used to).  This first new pair of shoes also probably had a lot to do with a bunch of other firsts that resulted from my long run Saturday:

  • First double-digit mileage run in 2011 (actually since THE marathon)
  • First run outside in 2011!  Dear everyone on the east coast and midwest, it was 65 degrees in SF on Saturday!  I ran in short sleeves!  And in the sun, in GG Park! (also all firsts for 2011)
  • First run with Gus in 2011.  I missed you buddy.

Here’s last week’s breakdown:

Monday – 6.32 miles
Tuesday – 6.39 miles
Wednesday – 6.40 miles
Friday – 3.23 miles
Saturday – 10.65 miles

Month Week Actual Miles Goal Miles
Jan 1/1 – 1/9 14.51 49.59
1/10 – 1/16 32.99 88.16
1/17 – 1/23   126.73
1/24 – 1/30   165.3
Goal Status Check 47.5 165.3

Everyone understand how this spreadsheet works?  My total weekly mileage is in the “Actual Miles” column.  The total cumulative miles that I am supposed to have run to be on track with my goal of 2011 miles in 2011 is in the right column, “Goal Miles”.  So you shouldn’t compare 32.99 miles with 88.16.  88.16 miles is where I should be to date for the month of January (and 32.99 is just last week’s mileage).  You should compare the “Actual Miles” in the “Goal Status Check” line (47.5) with the 88.16 for this week.  I’ve run 47.5 miles so far in 2011 and to be at par with my goal I should have 88.16 miles under my soles.  😉

Yes I know and I already tried to tell YOU.  This 2011 miles goal is no joke!  This is going to be difficult!  But I’ll adapt and evolve, one mile at a time.

This entry was posted in Weekly Summaries. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Firsts

  1. Pingback: Seven in Heaven | Balanced Footsteps

  2. Pingback: Learning more everyday! | Balanced Footsteps

Leave a Reply

