The Bus Diaries

I like riding the bus, usually.  I’m a pretty nosey person and there are typically some very interesting characters on the bus; most days I bring a book or magazine to read disguise my eavesdropping.

My schedule has been a little bit odd for the past couple of weeks:

6 AM – 9 AM: work from home
9 AM – Noon: run, shower, commute to work
Noon – 5 PM: work (at work)
5 PM – 5:30 PM: commute back home
5:30 PM – 10 PM: work from home (blog, cook eat dinner, deal with life etc…)
After 10 PM: sleepy time

My schedule won’t be like this any longer (thank goodness!) but it meant that I got to experience a different bus ride, with a different crowd of bus riders, and this particular crowd is much less law abiding tame than the white-collar peeps on my usual express bus in the morning.

On today’s episode on The Bus Diaries I’d like to introduce you to The English Patient.

I love listening to anyone with an accent speak.  It doesn’t matter what type of accent it is.  I particularly enjoy British, Italian and Australian accents.  I appreciate a good Southern-Drawl too.  Brazilians are pretty fiery and their accent only promotes and exhibits their energy!  The other morning a British lady sat behind me on the bus.  She was on the phone so of course I continued to read my book listened to the conversation.

I then immediately started thinking about my dentist.

My dentist is British as well and her voice is so soothing and calming.  It doesn’t even matter what she is saying.  Bethtober, now we’re just going to scrape the shit out of your gums. [or on a different visit] Bethtober stay still, we’re going to inject the anesthetic in your gums, over and over and over and over again. Okay!  Whatever!  Can you just say that again?  I like the way you say it.

Listening to the lady on the bus brought me to my Zen place.  So relaxing…keep talking…peeeeeaceful.

Apparently this woman was phoning her doctor’s office to let them know that in addition to the anti-depressants and pain medication she was on her way there to pick up, she’d also like to schedule an emergency appointment to speak to the doctor about her severe anxiety attacks and prescribing her medication for that too.

My brain almost exploded, for multiple reasons.  I played the doctor’s end of the conversation out in my brain…

Sure, need any heroin to go with that?

Or maybe…

No problem!  Wash it all down with a glass of wine after dinner and don’t call me in the morning…because you’ll be dead!

Or…

Sounds good, let me just prescribe you some “uppers” as well to counteract all of these downers.  Speed sound OK?

While I’m sure hopeful no licensed physician would respond with any of these types of comments, I am convinced that as a society we are WAY to willing to accept (or request) prescription medications to treat various conditions instead of exploring alternative and potentially healthier treatment options.  I’m not going to get into all of my thoughts on this subject in this blog post; I was just disappointed my English Patient wasn’t the portrait of serenity I’d painted her to be in my brain.

I’m going to call to see if I can bump up my next dentist appointment.

This entry was posted in I Left my Heart in San Francisco, The Game of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Bus Diaries

  1. Dad says:

    Adrenal Gland Failure (Wikapedia)

  2. Ben says:

    Alright, I am throwing my hat in the ring. What’s with this anti-western medicine thing you have been proselytizing lately, and how far does it go? Surely, you would pick and choose what is good about western medicine and what you don’t like. For example, if you contracted polio, you should probably go get some penicillin. Good thing western medicine can cure polio. If you got strep throat, then the same situation would apply.

    You seem to have a very dangerous categorical dismissal of all things that are brought about by western medicine. This is not just from this post but others as well. Not everything from medicine is bad. And, not everything from nature is good. For example, in the above alternative to anti-depressants, you offered heroin, which is a very natural substance. Dare I say, you can even get organic heroin. That doesn’t mean it’s good.

    Now, are pain medications over prescribed? Are antidepressants too ready at hand? Maybe, but bathtubs are slippery and stairs are steep. That doesn’t mean I am never going to bathe or walk up stairs. To say that western medicine is wrong or inherently bad is just patently false. Perhaps some doctors are bad? Sure. Some teachers are bad, but that doesn’t mean I want to try to close schools or remove the education system.

    Moreover, you know nothing about English Patient. Her doctor has talked to her more than you. So, your judgment of the matter is something similar to saying that you know more about both what English Patient needs and what the doctor should have prescribed. You have counted yourself as more knowledgeable than both the patient and the doctor. What gives you such inside information? What provides you with such a window in the soul of those you have never directly spoken to?

    Just Some Thoughts.

    Lovies,
    BC

    • bethtober says:

      CONGRATULATIONS Ben you’ve won the award for the longest Bethtober blog comment ever! On this open forum we are pro-opinion and anti-ignorance. We also appreciate support and sarcasm! I’m glad a post about bus riding and accent loving spurred you to comment finally. Keep ‘em comin’!

Leave a Reply

