Ch-Ch-Ch-Chia!

Pop Quiz!

1.            What food has more antioxidants than blueberries and more calcium than milk?

2.            What is so nutritious that Christopher McDougall, author of Born to Run, likened it to a “smoothie of wild salmon, spinach and human growth hormones”?

3.            Dr. Oz said, “They just may be one of the healthiest things around”.  What are they?

Give up?

source

Still give up?

Chia seeds!!!

I’ve been reading about the benefits of consuming Chia seeds for awhile now so yesterday The Chef and I went down to our local Cooperative Market, Rainbow Grocery, to pick some up.  We purchased a pound of them for about $10 and have been trying out different recipes since.  First I tested out their taste and texture by sprinkling some on top of a piece of toast with peanut butter.  Delicious!  Later that afternoon I ran the easiest 6 miles ever!  I don’t think I opened my mouth to breathe once and I didn’t slow my pace at all; my body was operating very efficiently!

Chia seeds originate from Mexico and Guatemala and have long been known by these cultures as “the running food”.  Here’s a link to an article that provides a great overview of the seed, its history and health benefits.

This morning The Chef and I tried out the Chia Fresca recipe from that article:

1 cup spring or filtered water
1 tablespoon chia seeds
2 teaspoons fresh lemon or lime juice
2 teaspoons agave nectar or honey

Whisk the chia seeds into the water and allow them to soak for 10-15 minutes. Stir in lemon or lime juice and agave and whisk well. Drink immediately. Makes 1 serving.

It was pretty good; kind of like a Boba drink if you’ve ever had one of those.  Now I’m off to squeeze in a 10 mile run before it starts to rain again (hopefully)…be back later for this week’s recap!  Have a nice Sunday!

This entry was posted in Eat, Run, Travel, The Chef's Menu. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

