2011 Bethtober Marathon!

The registration for the marathon that I want to run in 2011 opened last night at 10 PM PT.  There isn’t a lottery or a time qualification requirement, but there is a registration cap as is the case with most races.  This is a pretty popular marathon and requires travel plans be made as well so I wanted to register ASAP.

Since I’m running so much and so early these days I rarely see what 10 PM looks like on a school night.  Last night was no exception.  I distracted myself with apartment cleaning so I could make it to 8 PM because I’m sure just the thought of hitting the hay earlier than that aged me.  I didn’t drift off until around 9 PM but after 5 solid hours of sleep, I awoke a little after 2 AM ready to go!  The thought of registering crossed my mind but that seemed a little bit too fanatical so I calmed my brain down and back to sleep.

At 5:30 AM when it was really time to get up, I turned the alarm off, grabbed a cup of coffee and hopped back under the warm covers with my laptop.  Five minutes later…registration was complete.  Then…panic set in.

The first marathon went really well but what if I can’t do it again?

Am I crazy?  I must be crazy?

Remember how sore you were after 26.2 miles Bethtober?  What if you can’t run for the rest of the year afterwards?  How will you hit 2011 miles in 2011 then?

Shhhhhhhhhh!  Stop freaking out.

You have 8 months to train and you’re already running about 45 miles per week.

Don’t defeat yourself before you even get started!  And yes, you are crazy but that has nothing to do with this marathon!

I listened to my own advice, took a deep belly breath and got really excited!

Another Happy Bethtober Marathon for me!  Although this one is four days before my birthday instead of 4 days after which is much more conducive to the kind of celebrating I have planned!

What?  You don’t plan your birthday celebrations 8 months in advance?

 

Chicago 2011 Marathon here I come!!!

This entry was posted in Eat, Run, Travel, Races. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2011 Bethtober Marathon!

  1. Sharon Craig says:

    CHICAGO!!!!OMG!!!

  2. Noopur says:

    Nice! You’ll be in my neck of the woods. Let me know when you’re in town – would love to cheer you on. 🙂

    • bethtober says:

      I thought about you after I registered! I’ll definitely keep you posted with our plans; tentatively we’re thinking that we’ll be in Chicago 10/7 – 10/15. I’d LOVE your support race day and we should definitely grab a coffee/drink or whole meal of food while we’re in town 🙂

Leave a Reply

