Hellooooooooo from Sacramento

Hi friends! Wow! That transition took a little bit longer than expected. And I’m not referring to the physical move itself, although that was pretty labor intensive. The emotional journey from the city by the bay to the central valley has been exhausting! And it’s certainly not over yet; I just figured now would be the perfect time to get my creative juices blogging again for three reasons.

1) I missed you!

2) Chicago marathon training is about to start. Yikes!

3) I have a free hour now every week day afternoon. (Oprah, I miss you already.)

New city. New house. New job. Living with your future in-laws. Big changes require big adjustments. Without boring you with all of the details, here’s a quick recap on the adventure.

On the job front, I started my new job a little over a month ago and LOVE it. Not just because they mailed me a box of swag before my start date. Not at all due to the fact that I’ve had so many delicious, free lunches with clients (although free food is my favorite food group). And certainly not because they’ve already taken us to a Giants game, I get to go to Palm Desert next week for a conference, Tahoe the following month and Vegas in Bethtober! Nope, this company seems to walk their talk and I like that. I could use me a little work-life balance, if you know what I mean! New wardrobe, better benefits, slower pace, welcoming environment, supportive team, interesting work, lots to learn, corner office ;), it’s going well.

On the home front, The Chef and I spent two weeks in our new home with my future in-laws before they left for a month long vacation in Thailand. I know what you’re thinking…parents are gone, PARTY! But actually May has been much more challenging than expected, and we’re not 17 anymore. The Chef took over daily operations at his mom’s Thai restaurant. I can’t remember if we’ve been over this before so quickly…The Chef’s mom is from Thailand, dad is from Guatemala. My future mother-in-law (MIL) owns a Thai restaurant and The Chef’s oldest sister, who moved from Thailand to the US about 5 years ago, is the chef in the restaurant. (Ha! The Chef’s sister is the chef.) The Chef’s sister also has a teenage son and they live about a mile away from us so every day after school, FIL and NIL look after each other (father-in-law and nephew-in-law people, stay with me!). So guess who inherited a teenager for the month of May!? While The Chef and his sister take care of the restaurant, I play substitute-working-mom. And it’s a tough job.

On the running front, I have been running but not on a regular schedule and not more than 5 miles at a time. My external hard drive is somewhere in a box under my bed but I’ll find it, update my 2011 running tracker and post it before Chicago training kicks off. Truthfully, I haven’t been running as much as I’d like but now that the dust has settled a little bit (and MIL and FIL come back soon), I’m excited to reunite with my morning run routine.

On the food front, an earlier work day and the appetite of an adolescent boy (not me, NIL), have led to some fun new recipes! We still get a CSA box delivered, every Tuesday here, and lately I’ve been of the opinion that there are few things better in life than vegetables roasted in olive oil and garlic, except maybe the veggie samosas I made last week. 😉 I’ve also started to bake my own bread; SUPER delicious and much easier to accomplish than you’d think (recipe coming soon!). Lastly, there’s 100% chance I may or may not be turning into a veg-head. You know, a “no meat athlete”. I don’t think this will be a permanent life style change for me but for now, I feel much better consuming less animal, for multiple reasons. Lately, there’s been a lot of hype about the new movie “Forks over Knives”. While “Food, Inc.” focused more on the political, economic and environmental impact of our current food industry, “Forks Over Knives examines the profound claim that most, if not all, of the degenerative diseases that afflict us can be controlled, or even reversed, by rejecting our present menu of animal-based and processed foods”. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but it got me thinking that maybe I could, and should, trim back the [animal] fat. So I have. As Michael Pollan says, “Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.”. (That sentence is a grammar nightmare!)

OK that was a lot of details, and not a quick recap; but I didn’t bore you did I?!

Have a great Memorial Day weekend! See you before Tuesday, promise 😉

This entry was posted in Bloggy Blog, The Game of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hellooooooooo from Sacramento

  1. Natalie says:

    I’m looking forward to that bread recipe! My goal in life is to be a whiz in the kitchen just like youuuuuu!

  2. Sharon Craig says:

    I am glad you are BACK! Hugs, MOMMA

Leave a Reply

