6 years ago…

This time six years ago I was starting a new job, my first in the healthcare industry.  I had been living with my parents for a couple of months following college and after years in school and living in various suburban communities, I was ready for a change.  So I did what most twenty-somethings do these days, I moved to the big city.

I started healthcare consulting job #1 with a group of people who were as professionally green as I was.  We got to know each other pretty well throughout orientation.  It’s nice to start a new job with other people, you have friends instantly, or at least familiar faces to eat lunch with while you figure out the social dynamics.

We went through group training sessions together.  Most of the time we’d each have to give our 30 second elevator pitch to open the meetings.  Hi, my name is Bethtober, I graduated from UC San Diego with a degree in bla bla bla bla.  By the end of the first week, we all could recite each other’s bios so one manager mixed it up a little bit and asked us each to share something unique and different about ourselves.

At the time I was staying in a friend’s parents’ house in my home town while they travelled for the summer and I looked for a place in the city.  I dribbled a soccer ball around the house, it was comforting, familiar.  So that’s what I shared with the group.  Hi, my name is Bethtober and I like to dribble a soccer ball when I walk around the house.   Not entirely unique but at the time I didn’t really feel like I was to begin with.  Someone else wore toe socks; a girl referred to herself as a moose; one person was a martial arts expert.  We went around the table until this guy told us that he liked to play disc golf.  This incited a huge discussion, what kind of golf?  You don’t play with clubs?  How does the disc fit into the hole?  Question after question, now this was different!

Later that afternoon, the disc golf guy came to my desk to talk to me about soccer.  Turns out he also played for years and followed the international leagues very closely.  It might not have been the most unique thing shared that day but it caught one person’s attention.  And this month, we’ll celebrate six amazing years together.  It seems the disc golf guy is also a pretty great Chef. 😉

This entry was posted in I Left my Heart in San Francisco, The Game of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 6 years ago…

  1. Erica says:

    That friend’s parent’s house is me!!!!! i LOVE it and I love you both! (And I’m so glad you’re back to posting, I’ve missed Bethtober and the Chef!)

Leave a Reply

