Updated Tracker

I think it’s safe to say at this half-way point in the year that there’s 100% chance I may or may not reach my goal of running 2011 miles in 2011. 😉

There’s no doubt I struggled to stay on track during the relocation and job transition.  It’s almost painful to enter the sub-par weekly totals into the tracker (below) and see how far out of reach the goal has become.  I’ve learned that I’m my hardest critic and usually don’t give myself much leeway for error.  This has led to very unhealthy and unbalanced behaviors in the past so I try to focus now on the half-full glass. 

Half-empty glass = I suck.  I will never reach my goal and therefore I am a failure.

Half-full glass = I ran 15.81 miles last week!  That’s awesome and WAY better than ZERO! 

The half-full glass is so much nicer!  I wouldn’t even want to be friends with the half-empty glass so why would I treat myself that way!  I try to learn something in every situation and keep one foot in front of the other.  In the words of my parents, you can always change the direction of a moving car.

So I’ll keep up the tracker and we’ll see how close I get.  There’s always 2012 miles in 2012!  Although 13 is my lucky number, maybe 2013 will be the year!  I’ll get it one day, and enjoy every step of the journey in the meantime.

Month

Week

Actual Miles

Goal Miles

July

6/27 – 7/3

15.81

1013.84

7/4 – 7/10  

1052.41

7/11 – 7/17  

1090.98

7/18 – 7/24  

1129.55

7/25 – 7/31  

1168.12

Goal Status Check

374.08

1168.12

 

For those of you who may be new to the bloggy, the “actual miles” column reflects what I ran during that particular week; the “goal miles” column reflects the total miles I should have accumulated to date this year.  Therefore, you should refer to the “goal status check” row in order to compare apples to apples.

I’ve got one of my longest runs all year to tackle this weekend!  I’ll be back early next week to let you know how it went and post an updated tracker for this week.  Have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Training, Weekly Summaries. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

