two months veganISH

It’s been about two months since I first began making a very conscious effort to eliminate drastically cut back on my intake of animal and I feel great!  There have been a lot of things that surprised me about this journey so far and a lot of changes that I’ve had to make, so I thought I’d share some of the ups and downs of my transition to veganISH.

In keeping with the rule of three below are three things that…

Surprised me about my previous eating habits:

  1. Breakfast used to be almost entirely animal.
  2. I was not very conscious (of what I was putting in my mouth and why).
  3. I ate out much more than I thought I did.

Surprised me about being veganISH:

  1. People look at you like you have a third eyeball when you explain your eating preferences.
  2. MOST restaurants have one or two vegetarian entrees at the most!  Try taking the animal out of those and you are left with a sad, sad excuse for a meal.  So you have to be flexible and get creative. 😉
  3. Replacing meat with veggies in some dishes actually makes them less dry and more flavorful.

I have almost every morning now for breakfast:

  1. Oatmeal
  2. Blueberries
  3. Almond milk

Have improved since the switch to veganISH:

  1. My skin.  It’s seems smoother, brighter and I haven’t had one single blemish on my face in the last two months.
  2. My period (sorry boys, I’m going there…).  It’s lighter, shorter and less painful.
  3. Migraine monster!  So far I’ve only had one in the last couple months whereas I used to have a couple each month.  And that one was very early on in the transition so I’m hoping to see continued improvement. 🙂

*This list could be MUCH longer but I’m following the rule of three. 😉

I’ve learned to incorporate into more meals, in creative ways:

  1. Avocado.  This can be used to create a creamy or cheesy texture in dishes.
  2. Beans.  They really are the magical fruit. 😉  With beans as the primary ingredient I’ve made everything from “burgers” to “mashed potatoes”. 
  3. Almond milk.  In my coffee, blended with frozen banana to make “ice cream”, and left in the fridge overnight in my morning bowl of oats. Yum!

I have consumed from the animal food group in the last two months:

  1. Goat cheese – in the best Portobello mushroom sandwich ever.
  2. Cheesecake.  Fine!  Twice!  I’ve had cheesecake twice!
  3. In n Out cheeseburger.  (and I actually felt SUPER guilty after eating this.  My brain thought it was going to be much tastier than it really was.  Not sure it was worth it.

I would recommend to you, animal eaters of the world 😉

  1. Don’t look at (or treat) anyone like they have a third eyeball simply because of the food they choose to nourish themselves with.
  2. Try it!  For one meal, one day of the week, one week of the year…whatever you can commit to.  If anything it might just open your eyes to some of your current habits.
  3. Be mindful of the source of your food, animal or not.  What is more important than what you are putting in to your body?
This entry was posted in Food, Inc. Etc..., The Game of Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

