Back in the game!

I’ve run almost 100 miles so far in 2012.

Yesterday I played my first soccer game of the season.

 Today I am so sore I can barely walk!  Aaaaaaand I even took an ice bath afterwards!

Those four sentences don’t even make sense next to each other!  But it’s true.  You’d think after 100 miles in one month my body could handle two hours of soccer playing but it’s a totally different ball game.  Pun intended 😉

I’m playing in an adult women’s league here in Sacramento and felt like I was 15 years old again on the field.  Off the field my joints feel more like 51.  I grew up playing soccer.  I played until my senior year of high school when I decided boys and “free time” after school were more important.  I only had 5 classes my senior year (all Advanced Placement “AP”, thankyouverymuch!) so my school day ended around noon, clearly leaving enough time for boys, free time AND soccer but my priorities were a little bit, shall we say, unfocused.  There are so many things I’d like to go back and tell my adolescent self, probably the very same things my parents were telling her at the time.  Perspective is a beautiful thing 🙂

Soccer should prove to be an excellent cross training tool incorporated into my running schedule this year.  I’ve built a pretty balanced plan that I’m excited to share with you later this week!

Even though my muscles are screaming now, I like to think they’re saying “THAAAAAAAAAANK YOUUUUUUUUU!”

This entry was posted in The Game of Life, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back in the game!

  1. Pingback: 2012 Q1 Training Plan | Balanced Footsteps

Leave a Reply

